Visit page
Press "Enter" to skip to content

NCRF announces its 2016-2017 Board of Trustees

The National Court Reporters Foundation announced two new incoming trustees to its board: Nancy Varallo, RDR, CRR, owner of The Varallo Group from Worcester, Mass.; and Tami Keenan, RPR, CPE, a retired reporter from Battle Creek, Mich. Debi Cheyne, a CART captioner from Sherwood, Ore., was reelected to her second term.

“We are very pleased that Trustee Debi Cheyne will remain on the board and serve a second three-year term, and we are extremely excited and eager to welcome Tami Keenan and Nancy Varallo to the Board of Trustees,” said NCRF Chair Jan Ballman, RPR, CMRS, of Minneapolis, Minn. “Both Tami and Nancy bring to the table an amazing breadth of experience, depth of vision, and love of the Foundation and its good work. NCRF will exponentially benefit from each of their individual strengths and contributions throughout their service to the Foundation.”

Cheyne, Varallo, and Keenan have been long-time supporters of NCRF and the profession.

Cheyne has served on the NCRF Board of Trustees and Angels Committee, has been an Angel donor since the program’s inception in 2006, and became a Major Gifts donor this year, along with her husband Jeff. Cheyne also served on the Oregon Court Reporters Association’s board and as its president. She also served on the Sumner College Advisory Committee, participating in the college’s creation of an Associate of Arts degree program for court reporting students.

Varallo is a past president of NCRA and a long-time Angel donor. She contributed to NCRF’s Total Immersion Pilot Program. She also is a past president of the Massachusetts Court Reporters Association. In addition to running her firm, The Varallo Group, she teaches private court reporting classes, does one-on-one coaching, and is an advisor for court reporting programs at two Massachusetts colleges.

Keenan is a past president of NCRA, served on NCRF’s board as vice president of NCRA, is a member of NCRF’s Legacy Society, and has been an Angel donor and member of the Angels Committee since the beginning of the program and chaired the committee for two years. Keenan is also past president of the Michigan Association of Professional Court Reporters.

Cheyne, Varallo, and Keenan will join NCRF Chair-elect Nancy J. Hopp, RDR, CRR, CMRS, of St. Louis, Mo.; Jane Fitzgerald, RMR, of Des Moines, Iowa; Teresa Kordick, RDR, CRR, CRC, CRI, CPE, of Des Moines, Iowa; Joan K. McQuinn, RPR, CMRS, of Rockford, Ill.; Adam Miller, RPR, CRI, CLVS, of Wilmington, Del.; Tammey M. Pastor, RPR, of Chandler, Ariz.; and Cregg Seymour of Baltimore, Md., on the 2016-2017 Board of Trustees. The NCRA Secretary-Treasurer (to be elected at the NCRA Annual Business Meeting in Chicago at the Convention & Expo) and NCRA Executive Director and CEO Michael S. Nelson also serve as Trustees.