Visit page
Press "Enter" to skip to content

New deadline for the Exam Retention Policy

The NCRA Exam Retention Policy deadline has been extended to Dec. 15 to include all remaining 2021 testing dates.

Testing opportunities available before the deadline are:

  • Written Knowledge Test registration is open until June 30 for testing July 8-22.
  • Online Skills Test registration is open Aug. 1-20 for testing Sept. 1-20.
  • Written Knowledge Test registration is open Sept. 1-30 for testing Oct. 7-21.
  • Online Skills Test registration is open Oct. 1-20 for testing Nov. 1-20.

“We hope all those pursuing certification review the Exam Retention Policy and map out their testing schedules accordingly to ensure they achieve their certification within the time frame outlined in the policy,” said NCRA Director of Certification and Testing Amy Davidson. “We look forward to expanding our newly certified listings with each test that we offer.”

In May 2018, NCRA announced to members that a new Exam Retention Policy was recommended by the Council of the Academy of Professional Reporters (CAPR) and would be implemented in October 2018.

Under this policy, any person with an existing history of passed educational components or passed tests will have three years to complete the remaining components and earn their certifications. Translation: All pre-existing passed test histories (any earned prior to Oct. 1, 2018) will have an expiration date of Dec. 15, 2021. Beginning with the start of the Exam Retention Policy, any person passing a required education component or a Skills or Written Knowledge Test has an expiration of three years from the date of the official pass.

NCRA places a high value on the standards it sets for the professional certifications it offers. The three-year time requirement for completing the components needed to earn a certification reflects this commitment and also aligns the Association’s policies with certification best practices.

A look back: Why the change?

CAPR, which is responsible for the development and administration of continuing education programs and credential examinations, reviewed the current policy, which allowed Skills Tests (SKT) and Written Knowledge Tests (WKT) scores to remain valid indefinitely. In 2018, members of the Council made the recommendation to place a three-year requirement on completing the components needed to earn a certification. Benefits of the Exam Retention Policy are that candidates are highly likely to maintain their skills while completing all requirements and that candidates will be more likely to pass all requirements for reporter certifications because their skills (speed and/or accuracy levels) will be at their highest.

How it works

Under the Exam Retention Policy, candidates for certification who have taken any mandatory certification education requirements or passed any SKTs or WKTs prior to Oct. 1, 2018, have until Dec. 15, 2021, to pass the remainder of the requirements for the certification for which those requirements apply.

Passing test scores will expire after three years if a candidate fails to complete the additional requirements to earn that certification. If an education component/test score expires, the candidate will need to repeat the education component or successfully retest before being able to earn the certification.

Have additional questions? View the Exam Retention Policy FAQs.