Visit page
Press "Enter" to skip to content

NCRA A to Z 2022 – Year in Review

As we celebrate Court Reporting & Captioning Week, we would like to take a moment to celebrate the volunteers and program sponsors who have made the NCRA A to Z® Intro to Steno Machine Shorthand program a success this past year. In 2022 more than 250 students earned a program certificate.

In 2022, NCRA headquarters also hosted four sessions, and there are plans to double that number in 2023! Cynthia Scrimshaw is one student who completed the NCRA A to Z program in 2022. Scrimshaw found the program after seeing a job posting for a court reporter in her area. “The career overview was really intriguing. I researched this line of work for a few weeks and was amazed and impressed by the people who are employed in this career. I was lucky to find this website and am extremely grateful to have the opportunity to participate in this program,” she said.

Students access the course through the NCRA Learning Center. Scrimshaw wrote: “It is really helpful how the lessons are broken up with the materials, videos, and quizzes.” She also noted that she is looking forward to pursuing this career and upgrading to her own machine.

Access to real steno machines and the keyboard layout is integral to the success of the A to Z program and would not be possible without the generous support from NCRA exclusive machine rental partners ProCAT and Stenograph. As world leaders in court reporting and captioning technology, ProCAT and Stenograph help A to Z students get started on the exciting journey of court reporting by providing a modern steno machine at an extremely affordable rental rate.

In addition, a number of generous volunteers donated their time in 2022 to host ground programs at the local level in seven states and one Canadian province. NCRA would like to thank the following instructors and guest speakers for participating in its A to Z Program at the local and/or headquarters level:

Eileen Beltz, CRI, Avon, Ohio
Kensie Benoit, San Antonio, Texas
Maggie Brown Fair, Oxford, Miss.
Max Curry, RPR, CRI, Smyrna, Tenn.
April Dowell, RMR, CRR, Jeffersonville, Ind.
Stacy Drohosky, RMR, CRR, CRI, Hammond, Ind.
Melissa Grimes, RPR, Calhoun City, Miss.
Jen Krueger, Ph.D., FAPR, RMR, CRI, CPE, Parma, Ohio
Dena Legg, RDR, CRR, Taylorsville, Ky.  
Maria Lemmo, Bayside, N.Y.
Tracy Lundergan, RMR, Louisville, Ky.
Joanne McKenzie, RPR, CRR, CRC, CRI, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Phyllis McLarty, RMR, Mantachie, Miss.
Lisa Migliore Black, Louisville, Ky.
Kelly Moranz, CRI, Parma, Ohio
Melanie Owen, RPR, Pontotoc, Miss.
Cathy Penniston, RPR, CRI, Waukee, Iowa
Leigh Pettit, New Albany, Miss.
Janice Plomp, RDR, CRR, CRC, CRI, St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Jerri Porter, RPR, CRR, Brentwood, Tenn.
Isaiah Roberts, RPR, Chicago, Ill.
Margary Rogers, RPR, CRI, Washington, D.C.
Karen Santucci, CRI, Forest Hills, N.Y.
Judy Stewart, San Antonio, Texas
Felicia Thomas, Bowling Green, Ky.
Abby Wasson, Springfield, Mo.
Tiffany Wooldridge, RPR, Bolivar, Miss.