Visit page
Press "Enter" to skip to content

Nominations for NCRA recognition awards now being accepted

Nominations are now being accepted for several NCRA awards that bring attention to those who are contributing to the profession in important ways. The NCRA Distinguished Service Award, the CASE Award of Excellence, and the Fellows of the Academy of Professional Reporters are all ways to recognize NCRA members who are giving back to the profession.

NCRA Distinguished Service Award. The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest honor NCRA can bestow on a member. It recognizes the distinguished work and service by an individual member for the benefit of the court reporting and captioning professions, including service to NCRA as a member, a committee member, a director, or an officer of the Association. Other displays of distinguished work include contributing to the JCR or service at a state court reporters association or in the field of public relations or public affairs. Award winners are recognized at the NCRA Conference & Expo. Nominations close March 1.

The 2022 DSA was awarded to Sue A. Terry, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CRC, a court reporter, captioner, and CART provider from Springfield, Ohio. Terry was honored at a special awards ceremony held at the 2022 NCRA Conference & Expo. Terry was also awarded the 2022 NCRF Jim Bouley Family Lifetime Award for Altruism (formerly the Santo J. Aurelio Altruism Award), making her the eighth person to have received both awards and the first person to receive both honors in the same year.

CASE Award of ExcellenceThe CASE Award of Excellence recognizes an outstanding educator who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of court reporter education through teaching, research, involvement with students, and the profession. Was there someone special who inspired you, who got you through the ups, downs, and plateaus of your court reporting classes? If your teacher was an incredible influence in your getting started, now is the time to say thank you by nominating them for the CASE Award of Excellence. Nominations close March 1.

The 2022 CASE Award of Excellence recipient was Lisa Jo Hubacher, RPR, CRI, a retired court reporting instructor from Evansville, Wis. “It has been my great fortune in life to have two careers I absolutely loved — freelance court reporter and court reporting instructor,” Hubacher said. “I could have done none of it without my reporting instructor, Rachel Baker, at MATC, NCRA, and my teaching partners Lee Leigh, RPR, CRI, Pamela Perry, RPR, CRI, and Sheila Finnegan Martinez, RPR. I owe them and many others a tremendous debt of gratitude. Mostly, though, I will be forever grateful to my students for enriching my life and giving meaning to my work. It has been truly an honor to serve them. Thank you very much for this award. It is much appreciated.”

Fellow of the Academy of Professional Reporters (FAPR)If you know a dedicated court reporter or captioner who has contributed to the profession in a big way over the years, nominate that person as a Fellow. Candidates must be active practitioners in the field and have at least 15 years of experience. Criteria for nomination include the publication of important papers, legislative or creative contributions to the field, and service on committees or boards. The 2022 class of Fellows were announced as Rich Germosen, RDR, CRR, a freelance court reporter and agency owner from North Brunswick, N.J., and Elizabeth “Liz” Harvey, RPR, a freelance court reporter from Seattle, Wash. Nominations for the 2023 class close March 1.